Town Council


In Rutherfordton, the Mayor and Town Council serve part-time and are elected on a non-partisan basis. The Mayor is elected for a four-year term and serves as the presiding officer at Town Council meetings and as the official head of the Town for ceremonial purposes. The four Town Council Members are elected at-large for staggered four-year terms.

Under the council-manager form of government, the Town Council acts as the legislative body in establishing policy and law, while the Town Manager handles the day-to-day management of the Town organization. The Town Council appoints a professional Town Manager, who serves as the Council’s chief adviser, and the Town Manager appoints the employees of the Town.

Upcoming Council Meetings

No events could be found.

Town Council Members

Jimmy Dancy Mayor 828-287-7997 Email
Stanley L. Clements Councilmember 828-287-5489 Email
Henry C. Giles, Jr. Councilmember 828-287-4447 Email
Dr. Doug Sheets Councilmember 828-429-5554 Email
Doris Crute Councilmember Email
Close window